Throwback Footwear this Spring!

Anyone remember wearing jelly sandals when they were a little girl? Or how about when you got a bit older, and you looked at Birkenstock sandals with disgust?

Well, guess what? They’re both back for Spring, and they’re causing somewhat of a split between fashion fans. Can jelly shoes really look nice? Is it safe to go out in Birkenstocks without feeling as if you’ve committed a fashion faux pas? Well, although I’m still not entirely convinced, seeing these throwback sandals looking super cool and effortlessly chic amongst the street style elite may be starting to convince me. As usual, the high street are coming up with some great editions, so there are lots of choices to be made if you are nearly as convinced as me!

 

 

I personally prefer the White Arizona Birkenstock sandal, but they are available in lots of different prints ( like blue paisley, for the more adventurous Birkenstock fan). You’re not just limited to the real deal here though, River Island and Topshop both have great quality versions, as well! They’re actually proving really versatile, too- wear with wide leg pants, skinny jeans or dresses for a cool, casual vibe!

 


The jelly shoe, however, comes in a lot of on trend variations, from heeled to slingback! I must admit that I firstly thought ‘I’ll stick to black’ (they look amazing with black socks, surprising I know), but after seeing the luscious pastel shades
from Juju I am lusting after a powder pink pair! Wearing them with socks may sound a little odd- we were always told no socks with sandals- but I have to say that they look so cute with frilly white ankle socks! I love the height that a heeled pair will add to an outfit, but the slingback, flat pairs are also a great alternative to summer sandals!

 

What do you guys think? Are you convinced? I think I may have just convinced myself…

About thestylesleuth

A Business Graduate hoping to convey her love of fashion to anyone who wants to listen.
This entry was posted in Celebrity, Clothing, Fashion, style and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Throwback Footwear this Spring!

  1. Pingback: Birkenstock Sandals | Blueberries Blog

  2. Pingback: Menswear SS15: Women inspiring Men | The Style Sleuth

Leave a Reply

