Five Fashion Resolutions for 2014

I’m not really one for resolutions (as if posting about resolutions halfway through January didn’t suggest that already) because I know that I probably won’t stick to any of them.. A year is a long time to stop or start doing something without giving up I think! But, with this said, I’ve been thinking lately of fashion related things I want to start doing, and, yes, I may not do all of them, I may just like the idea of doing them, but I’ve made a list anyway and hopefully I’ll start doing a few of them, or at least try to (and that’s what matters, right?). So, here goes..

1. To buy from charity shops. I know there’s a challenge out there of only buying from charity shops for a whole year, and I wish I could commit fully to this but I just don’t think I can just yet. I am going to try harder to buy from them once in a while though; its cheaper than the high street, I’ll be donating to charity and I might even get lucky and find something vintage! There are some good finds, you just need to rummage.. I saw a pink satin ball gown in one window that could have passed for Lanvin (although it probably wasn’t).

2. To buy more vintage. High Street, I love you, but there’s no character to you anymore, you all copy each other and everyone’s wearing the same. Like I said, I love high street and I won’t stop wearing it but I think it would be nice to have some one off items in my wardrobe!

3. To keep on improving. I love fashion and I think my knowledge is really improving, but you can never know enough and every little extra piece of information can only help me grow in such a competitive industry.

4. To think before I buy. Do I really need to buy another jumper? Not really, no.. and Primark is the worst for convincing that I do need that jumper.. and that necklace.. and that pack of earrings.. Such a bargain? Well it all adds up, I need to control myself a little better!

5. To buy because I like/want something. The problem of being in fashion and doing so much research is that I see current trends in a magazine and think ‘Ooh, I better run out and buy something from every trend I’ve just read about’. Despite loving most trends it just doesn’t make sense to think ‘checks are in, I better get that check print blouse’. Style shouldn’t be a tick list, it should be a bit more original than that. This isn’t to say I’ll stop reading magazines, getting inspired and buying ‘on trend’ items altogether, but what is ‘on trend’ shouldn’t be the ultimate reason I buy something!

About thestylesleuth

A Business Graduate hoping to convey her love of fashion to anyone who wants to listen.
This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

