Indian Bracelets: Pain is Beauty

IMG_20140108_163436

This beautiful bracelet was given to me as a gift from my boyfriend after a trip to India, and as soon as I saw them (I was given two) I fell in love with the gorgeous emerald and deep red jewel tones! So naturally I eagerly tried to pop them onto my wrist, but it turns out that in India bracelets are put on a little differently than here in the UK…

The bracelet itself is actually made to fit the wrist, making it impossible to just slip it over the hand. So how do I put on my beloved bracelet? Well, it’s actually a more lengthy process than you might expect, so below is a step by step guide.

  1. Apply lotion or oil to your hand, I used argon oil first and then when that didn’t work I put a hand lotion on top of this!
  2. I then got my sister to massage it into my hand, I think it’s probably important to relax the hand and loosen it up as it is important that the hand doesn’t stiffen up.
  3. I then (tried to) join my fingers together to make my hand as small as possible.
  4. It is important to hold your hand up vertical from the floor, because it is apparently harder to get the bangles on in any other position.
  5. Slowly and carefully work the bangles over your hand and apply more lotion or oil if needed!

So, that may seem pretty straight forward, and for some it may be simple and you may not even need instructions, but I know I definitely needed help (I have a low pain threshold and I think I could have done with a slightly bigger bangle to begin with). After getting my sister to help me with putting the bracelet on I can now proudly say I braved the pain and it looks so pretty on! But, it is safe to say that this bracelet may be here to stay on my wrist for a little while, as my hand is feeling a little worse for wear after trying to get it on there in the first place.. but hey, it is pretty and it luckily goes with most things.. I might even have to keep it on forever… I don’t think there will ever be a more appropriate time for me to say ‘pain is beauty’, but I still love my little Indian bracelets 🙂

About thestylesleuth

A Business Graduate hoping to convey her love of fashion to anyone who wants to listen.
This entry was posted in Fashion, style, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Indian Bracelets: Pain is Beauty

  1. Beautiful bracelet 😉 loved the tips! 😉

Leave a Reply

